Jeff Woodburn


Senator Jeff Woodburn

Democratic Leader

District 1

Jeff Woodburn, of Whitefield, represents the North Country in the State Senate, where he serves as Democratic Leader. He has a long, varied career – as successful entrepreneur, writer, teacher and child advocate.

A third-generation resident of Whitefield, Woodburn graduated from local public schools and graduated cum laude from Franklin Pierce University with a degree in history. As a writer and public official, he has a deep understanding and passion for agrarian culture and rural life.  His district encompasses 28 percent of the state’s landmass and boasts many of the state’s most iconic places – including the northeast’s highest peak, Mount Washington, and one of the nation’s best known tiny hamlets, Dixville, where every four years at midnight the first ballots are cast for President of the United States.

Woodburn got an early start in politics. While still in high school, he was elected to the state’s Constitutional Convention in 1984. He also served in the NH House of Representatives from 1988-1990, as a top aide and campaign manager to U.S. Congressman Dick Swett from 1990-1994 and as Chairman of the NH Democratic Party from 1997-99.

A love for history led Woodburn to start Historic Properties, an award-winning specialty real estate firm. He has also taught in North Country schools and has written for several newspapers. In 2012, he was honored by the New Hampshire Press Association as the columnist of the year. Presently, he writes for New Hampshire Magazine and serves as the Executive Director of the Council for Youths with Chronic Health Conditions.

Despite his district’s Republican leanings and the growing conservative dominance of rural areas, Woodburn has demonstrated an ability to garner bipartisan support and communicate a populist economic message blended with a strong cultural bond with his constituents. In 2013, WMUR-TV called him the state’s “most independent Senator” and his constituents have rewarded his independence with double-digit victories in each of his elections to the Senate.

At the State House, Woodburn’s independent streak has garnered respect from both sides of the aisle and Business NH Magazine has named him one of the state’s most influential leaders. His Democratic Senate colleagues recognized Woodburn’s ability to bring people together and find solutions by electing him as the Democratic Leader. And as the Democratic Leader in a Republican-dominated legislature, he has a record of getting things done including passage of bills into law that greatly expanded access to substance treatment and recovery services; changing state law to allow for a $26 million loan guarantee for the redevelopment of a closed grand hotel; asserting local control over safety planning for interstate oil pipelines; and passage of New Hampshire’s revenge porn law.

Woodburn lives in his ancestral home on Whitefield’s common. He has five children – three of whom are adults and two who are enrolled in local schools.

Senate District 1

Atkinson and Gilmanton Academy Grant, Bath, Bean’s Grant, Bean’s Purchase, Benton, Berlin, Bethlehem, Cambridge, Carroll, Chandler’s Purchase, Clarksville, Colebrook, Columbia, Crawford’s Purchase, Cutt’s Grant, Dalton, Dix’s Grant, Dixville, Dummer, Easton, Errol, Erving’s Location, Franconia, Gorham, Green’s Grant, Hadley’s Purchase, Jefferson, Kilkenny, Lancaster, Landaff, Lincoln, Lisbon, Littleton, Livermore, Low and Burbank’s Grant, Lyman, Martin’s Location, Milan, Millsfield, Monroe, Northumberland, Odell, Pinkham’s Grant, Pittsburg, Randolph, Sargent’s Purchase, Second College Grant, Shelburne, Stark, Stewartstown, Stratford, Success, Sugar Hill, Thompson and Meserve’s Purchase, Thornton, Wentworth Location, Whitefield, and Woodstock.

Contact Information:
Senate Office

State House
Room 120
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-3207